History of Belvoir
Surrounded by the Thames River, Belvoir is the oldest farm in South Western Ontario, Canada. Nestled on more than 316 acres, the estate is 10 km west of London, Ontario.
The land was originally owned by settler Ebenezer Allan, who arrived in Delaware in 1793 from Rochester, New York.
In 1840, the farm was known as Maple Grove and the main house on the Estate was built by Gideon Tiffany. It was referred to by the locals as “Tiffany’s Castle”.
In 1857 Gideon’s son, Dean Tiffany commissioned architect Thomas Stent the notable designer and builder of the East Wing of the Parliament Buildings in Ottawa to redesign and rebuild this grand and historic home.
In May of 2017, Ute Lawrence and Stan Fisher purchased the farm with the intent to use part of the breathtakingly beautiful land for Equine Assisted Human Development Programs and complementary nature based therapies for individuals, organizations and corporations. In this abundant setting, these outstanding programs help relieve the stress of modern life, increase empathy for others, and restore balance within one’s life.